Link: How to protect the sacroiliac joints when doing yoga

Yoga for Back Pain: Tips for Maintaining SI Joint Health by Olga Kabel is a very informative article on how to protect your sacroiliac joints when doing yoga. It is especially relevant to people with hypermobility syndrome.
People with hypermobility syndrome suffer from a variety of musculoskeletal pain and are likely to gravitate to yoga in their search for self-help physical therapies because they find themselves good at yoga due to their hypermobile joints. However, hypermobile joints are not the same as a flexible body with healthy joints and muscles. In fact, yoga can be a double edged sword in hypermobility syndrome.

There are some more articles on the site that are relevant to hypermobility syndrome:
http://ift.tt/1QeK2Jm.

However, the asana they have described, was incredibly difficult for me to do and I would suggest that one should not try it unless guided by a yoga teacher who is familiar with SI and hypermobility issues.

 

In case you already practice yoga, this article offers great pointers about how the SI joint can be abnormally stressed during some poses.
You may also like to read this excellent article written by a yoga teacher about the precautions necessary for people with hypermobility syndrome when doing yoga:
Hypermobility on the mat: some pointers for teaching yoga to people with Ehlers Danlos / Hypermobility Syndrome

from Blogger http://ift.tt/1QeK2Jo

via IFTTT

About Hypermobility Syndrome India/Viv

I an an Indian woman with Ehlers Danlos Syndrome Hypermobility Type (EDS-HT), also known as joint hypermobility syndrome. Although I have "suffered" from this disease all my life, I was diagnosed at 38 years, 2 years after my child was born. My work mainly involves being a mom to my beautiful and compassionate child. I also write and work from home in the field of science. I aim to raise awareness about EDS-HT, chronic pain, invisible illnesses, mental illnesses and invisible disabilities through my blogs. Viv (Latin root, meaning Life/ Alive) is my blogging pseudonym and alludes to my continued endeavor to rediscover my life and its meaning.
This entry was posted in External Links, JHS/H-EDS, Physical Therapy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

