Link: Chronic Pain, Cancelled Plans and Friends

Every chronically ill person, especially young people, regularly faces situations where they have to say no to many plans, turn up late for things and cancel on others at the last moment. They regularly face the unpleasant prospect of having to explain these with truths, half-truths and lies, depending on the friend’s closeness, receptiveness and capacity to understand the situation. They also lose friends and are often considered weird, especially so if the illness is invisible. This particular aspect among other problems related to social life causes a lot of distress because we also feel disappointed with ourselves, we feel bad for letting down/ annoying others, we feel bad for being misunderstood and we feel lonely.This is a short article on how friends can show their support and understanding to a chronically ill person when they cancel plans.

2016-15-3--12-07-45

 

from Blogger http://ift.tt/1pm78YM

via IFTTT

About Hypermobility Syndrome India/Viv

I an an Indian woman with Ehlers Danlos Syndrome Hypermobility Type (EDS-HT), also known as joint hypermobility syndrome. Although I have "suffered" from this disease all my life, I was diagnosed at 38 years, 2 years after my child was born. My work mainly involves being a mom to my beautiful and compassionate child. I also write and work from home in the field of science. I aim to raise awareness about EDS-HT, chronic pain, invisible illnesses, mental illnesses and invisible disabilities through my blogs. Viv (Latin root, meaning Life/ Alive) is my blogging pseudonym and alludes to my continued endeavor to rediscover my life and its meaning.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Chronic Illness, Daily Life Challenges/Tips, External Links, Fatigue, JHS/H-EDS and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

