Reblog: Losing someone to suicide

Chronic Illness, whether mental, physical or combined, is an incredibly difficult journey. The uncertainty is terrifying, the tests are invasive, the symptoms are debilitating. It is a burden, it is life changing, it is exhausting, it is lonely, it is depressing…
But please, please don’t let it become a death sentence.
Do not let the overwhelming darkness of Chronic Illness kill you.

Your parents, your extended family, your children, your friends, your colleagues; I guarantee that one or more of these love you and care about your wellbeing.
I, a complete stranger, care about your wellbeing.
You might have mistaken their silence for being rude or uncaring, but they most likely have NO knowledge of your inner thoughts and pain. You must take the step to reach out. Reach out to anyone.

Please, do not battle in silence.
There are loved ones, Psychologists, Doctors and Counsellors who are here to listen to you, to help you.

In memory of my dear friend, I ask three simple things of you tonight:

1) Reach out to your loved ones tonight and simply, LOVE them.
Put aside all anger, all stress and just tell your loved ones how much they mean to you, please.

2) If you know of someone going through hardship, or haven’t spoken to someone in a while, I encourage you to reach out and ask them the simple question, “How are you?”
This simple sentence packs a powerful punch.
Mental health is real,
Suicide is real,
and with these three words, you might start the conversation that saves someone’s life

3) Please share this post in loving memory of my friend, and to spread awareness for those battling Suicidal Thoughts who might not think that they have a reason to live tonight –
You DO.

Source:  In Loving Memory. – http://wp.me/p5VWkn-Gb

About Hypermobility Syndrome India/Viv

I an an Indian woman with Ehlers Danlos Syndrome Hypermobility Type (EDS-HT), also known as joint hypermobility syndrome. Although I have "suffered" from this disease all my life, I was diagnosed at 38 years, 2 years after my child was born. My work mainly involves being a mom to my beautiful and compassionate child. I also write and work from home in the field of science. I aim to raise awareness about EDS-HT, chronic pain, invisible illnesses, mental illnesses and invisible disabilities through my blogs. Viv (Latin root, meaning Life/ Alive) is my blogging pseudonym and alludes to my continued endeavor to rediscover my life and its meaning.
This entry was posted in Awareness, Chronic Illness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

