Latest Updates: Feb 2017: A Framework for the Classification of Joint Hypermobility and Related Conditions

A Framework for the Classification of Joint Hypermobility and Related Conditions

Authors: MARCO CASTORI,* BRAD TINKLE, HOWARD LEVY, RODNEY GRAHAME,

FRANSISKA MALFAIT, AND ALAN HAKIM

Am J Med Genet Part C Semin Med Genet 9999C:1–10.

-A new classification system for Ehlers–Danlos syndrome (EDS) identifies more than 20 types of EDS which has led to patients who do not fulfil the criteria of “full-blown” EDS-HT but have many features of hEDS and Joint Hypermobility, to be left without a diagnosis.

– Highlights the need for a single set of criteria that can substitute the previous criteria for the overlapping conditions of JHS and EDS-HT

– Introduces a concept of a spectrum of pathogenetically related manifestations of joint hypermobility intersecting with syndromes that manifest as multiple conditions including joint hypermobility resulting from a single gene (pleiotropic syndromes)  – as distinctly apart from other syndromes with joint hypermobility

Proposed classification:

classif

 

automatically posted from Blogger http://ift.tt/2kQ12Rp

About Hypermobility Syndrome India/Viv

I an an Indian woman with Ehlers Danlos Syndrome Hypermobility Type (EDS-HT), also known as joint hypermobility syndrome. Although I have "suffered" from this disease all my life, I was diagnosed at 38 years, 2 years after my child was born. My work mainly involves being a mom to my beautiful and compassionate child. I also write and work from home in the field of science. I aim to raise awareness about EDS-HT, chronic pain, invisible illnesses, mental illnesses and invisible disabilities through my blogs. Viv (Latin root, meaning Life/ Alive) is my blogging pseudonym and alludes to my continued endeavor to rediscover my life and its meaning.
This entry was posted in JHS/H-EDS, Recommended Reading, Research Articles, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

